Rotationmusic’s Weblog

Street Hit Music…Since 1986

Rotation Music’s Fresh Town Records “So Smooth” 25th Anniversary Edition Now Available!

Rotation Music  has released the 25th Anniversary edition of  their Fresh Town record’s imprint release “So Smooth” performed by Scratch Zone Symphony With M.C. Clock.   The original was released in 1986 and the 2011 (25th Anniversary) edition is now available!  There are only 100 units of this Limited Edition, 12″ single,  available with a special silver Anniversary label and colored gray/splatter vinyl.

The record hit the internet earlier this week (9/28/2010) and many world-wide Electro record collector’s have responded positively to on-line reviews and videos on YouTube.  The 12″ single is on sale for $100, and the way units are moving, the price will rise quickly.  There is definitely a demand for this record due to the rarity of the 1986 versions (which are included on this release).

Not only were orders placed for the Limited Edition gray vinyl but there were even a few test pressings purposely sold for $50 (this price is documented in the website).  The test press price was reduced to get the songs reviewed and to create an international awareness.  Due to the limited number of  white label test pressings, these copies could possibly sell for a few hundred dollars shortly. 

Some Critics claim that the 25th Anniversary gray vinyl single is expensive for a new release and may not sell at the $100 price point.   Because there are only 100 units available, this price is acceptable to many Fresh Town Records/Electro collectors.   Multiple units have been sold for $100 (and documented) and the record is already in demand. 

The original 1986 “So Smooth” release has sold for $500 (also documented) but there are not any Collector’s willing to sell this rare vinyl gem.  Since finding a Seller of the 1986 version is nearly impossible, Collectors are getting their hands on the 25th Anniversary 2011 edition (only 100 units available) as quickly as possible!  This Limited run was created to satisfy the Fresh Town fan base and make the “So Smooth” classic available to Collector’s world-wide.

The original So Smooth vinyl (MC-1500) was released in 1986 under the Fresh Town records label and was distributed by JDC Records.  The original record was recorded and mixed at the Music Store in Brea, CA during the summer of 1986.  The record was mastered by Richard Simpson and manufactured by Macola Records in October of 1986.  With the help of Johnny’s Records in La Puente, CA, JDC (who employed Sam Hernandez) distributed the records world-wide.   The 1986 (MC-1500) tracks included one vocal version and one instrumental version.

In 2011, Fresh Town will celebrate its 25th Anniversary and the release of this West Coast Classic “So Smooth”! The 25th Anniversary special edition vinyl (FT-1986) includes a total of 8 tracks.  In the summer of 2010, the record was re-mixed and recorded by Shawn Bossick at Diamond Studios; produced by Next Generation; mastered by Richard Simpson (again);  manufactured by Erika Records and distributed by Rotation Music LLC in Laguna Beach CA.  The tracklisting is as follows:

A1   So Smooth (Vocal Remastered) 4:23  
A2   So Smooth (Vocal Remix 2011) 3:40  
A3   So Smooth (Vocal Original) 4:25  
B1   So Smooth (Instrumental Remastered) 4:23  
B2   So Smooth (Instrumental Remix) 3:40  
B3   So Smooth (Instrumental Original) 4:25  
B4   So Smooth (Acappella) 4:25  
B5   So Smooth (Acappella 2011) 3:40

To purchase and read more about this limited edition release, please click the links below:

October 1, 2010 Posted by | MUSIC | , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment


The 12″ single “SO SMOOTH” by Scratch Zone Symphony with M.C. Clock was released on the Fresh Town Records imprint in 1986.  It is currently a collector’s item for being one of the first and rare West Coast Rap releases.  Fresh Town records is recognized as a West Coast Pioneer label and is still releasing Sreet Hit Music today, under the parent label Rotation Music LLC.  Fresh Town Records will celebrate its 25th Anniversary in 2011 and has limited vinyl edition releases lined up for first quarter 2011.  Fresh Town Records wants to meet the demands of its loyal fan base and collectors around the world.  The releases will include vinyl re-issues with remastered and remixed versions never released before.  The first 100 records will be etched and numbered from 1-100 on the vinyl disc and the cover.  Stay tuned for more information and exact release dates and pricing.  Check out the link below.  Fresh  Town records is listed as #80 and has sold multiple copies of the original “So Smooth” 12″ vinyl record for $500.00

Fresh Town Records 1986

Fresh Town Records 25 Years 1986-2011

July 10, 2010 Posted by | MUSIC, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment


Request the new Jodi V single “Breaking Down” on your local radio station.  “Breaking Down” has received spins on the syndicated Pocos Pero Locos show and continues to receive spins throughout the country.  “Breaking Down” is an emotional power ballad where Jodi V sings about the pieces of her broken heart from a shattered relationship.  Jodi V is a Latina Balladeer who is touching and connecting with her fans through her real life experiences of love and heartbreak.  “Breaking Down” is from Jodi V’s full length release “Seed of Love” available from Rotation Music.

June 7, 2009 Posted by | MUSIC | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment


Rotation Music is accepting Demos for an upcoming 20th anniversary compilation cd. Demos must be submitted exclusively on line through Sonicbids. Please click on the link and read the Sonicbids listing

January 3, 2009 Posted by | MUSIC | , , , , , , | Leave a comment